about us

Who we are

The Branch currently has approx. 400 associate members and is run by a small committee of volunteers, most of whom have worked for the Red Cross for many years. HE the Governor has traditionally been the Patron of the Branch and his wife has traditionally acted as President. The Red Cross operates from the Convent, which is both the residence and office of HE the Governor.

The Branch Chairman is Mr Timothy Bristow and the Hon Treasurer is Mr Edgar Lavarello, a partner in the local branch of PriceWaterhouseCoopers. The others include Mrs Tessa Imossi who has served both supporting the Welfare Officer and on the committee for 50 yrs in 2024.

The Committee meets approx. every six weeks, and a General Meeting is held annually, usually in the autumn in conjunction with a reception for the associate members. Our 2024 meeting was held in the Convent Ballroom on 18 Oct. A reception was held after the AGM, with the Committee members and general public.

Full Committee List:

  • Mr Timothy Bristow – Chairman
  • Mr E Lavarello – Hon Treasurer
  • Mrs T Edwards- Hon Secretary
  • Mrs L Alcantara
  • Mrs T Imossi
  • Mrs J Dennis
  • Mrs R Ballestrino
  • Mrs C Clifton-Psaila
  • Mr R Armstrong

In Attendance: Welfare Officer (currently Mrs Lois Soiza)

Contact Details: Initial contact should be made through the Welfare Officer Lois Soiza on Tel: 2007 4452 or by email at gibredcross@gibtelecom.net. The Red Cross office in the Convent is open on weekdays between 1000 and 1300. Access is via the Rear Courtyard Police Post.